Poverty, inequality, sustainability. How did we become okay with this?


In the last 3 decades we have used a third of the world’s resources.

Tonight, more than one billion people will go to bed hungry, even though there is enough food in the world to feed everyone.

Meanwhile, the average CEO in the U.S. earns $1,566.68 per hour.

In this world where a child dies every 6 seconds of preventable diseases and hunger, the world spends $1,464 billion on military expenditures in a single year. $90 billion is spent on nuclear weapons programs.

“The annual income of Christian American churchgoers is $5.2 trillion. The amount of money needed to end global poverty is about $74 billion a year.” That’s 1%. (I wonder how Australian churches stack up?)

The price of 2 coffees can save somebody from drying from malaria, or give 7 people clean water for a year. And yet I keep buying my chai lattes.

27 million people are enslaved today. Some are mining the diamonds we wear. Others are sewing our clothes.

How did we become ok with all this?

And how do those of us who confess to follow Jesus find it so easy to forget half his teachings…ie. “If you have two coats, give one away,” he said. “Do the same with your food.” Luke 3:11, The Message

There is enough for everyone’s need, but not for everyone’s greed. – Ghandi

I am not trying to preach from a soapbox.

I am wrestling with myself.

I am wondering how I am so OK with my life being so amazingly comfortable at the expense of so many in the world.

Wondering how I confess that I care about the poor yet have 10 coats in my wardrobe, without even a thought given to those who made them, or who profited because I purchased them.

I don’t know what to do about it. Yet.

But I do think we are capable of more than just ignoring these issues and going about our comfortable lives swimming in consumeristic excess whilst slowly destroying the planet.

overwhelming. a little. yes.

(just want to highly recommend the Ethical Consumer Guide…gave me some place to start at)

Leave a Reply

