My heart aches.

Sometimes, I just ache.

I ache for the billion people going to bed hungry tonight.

I ache for the mums who can’t afford to buy their children medicine and have to watch them die.

I ache for the 40 million children living on the streets of Latin America.

I ache for the horrors of current wars.

I ache for every person struggling to find meaning and joy in this life.

I ache that I have so few answers.

I ache for my mum and sister who are so ill at the moment and have been for a long time.

I ache for the emptiness I sometimes still feel inside of me.

I ache that I am not the perfect person I want to be and still make so many mistakes.

I ache for the brokenness of this ‘groaning planet’.

I love life; I am mostly cheerful and and like to think of myself as an optimist…

…but sometimes, I just ache a bit.

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.” C. S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

