Her Diamonds – Hang in there, Mum.

CFS/ME is a nasty, nasty, horrible, nasty illness.

I have just spent the morning sitting on the floor of my mothers bedroom while she lay collapsed, semi-conscious and unable to move on the bed.

I had hooked her up to oxygen, taken her blood pressure, given her heat packs, fed her meds. Yet nothing can pull her out of these horrible dizzying and painful collapses except time…she must simply suffer and wait them out.

And yet they keep coming, regularly at the moment, and every slight change in her treatment seems to trigger another.

And yet she never complains. She just lies there apologising (when she can talk). She even apologised to the ambos once.

Such a kind, selfless, brave soul.

So for her:

And I don’t know what I’m supposed to do
But if she feels bad then I do too
So I let her be

And she says ooh I can’t take no more
Her tears like diamonds on the floor
And her diamonds bring me down
Cause I can’t help her now

She’s down in it
She tried her best but now she can’t win
It’s hard to see them on the ground
Her diamonds falling down, way down

And I don’t know what I’m supposed to do
So I sit down and I cry too
But don’t let her see

I can’t take these diamonds falling down

Rob Thomas – Her Diamonds (written for his ill wife)

I hope they figure out this stupid CFS/ME thing properly soon.

Leave a Reply

