“I’ll fight to the very end!!”


“While women weep, as they do now,
I’ll fight;
while little children go hungry, as they do now,
I’ll fight;
while men go to prison, in and out, in and out, as they do now,
I’ll fight;
while there is a drunkard left, while there is a poor lost girl upon the streets…
I’ll fight –
I’ll fight to the very end!!”

[ William Booth (founder) ]

Thank God for the Salvos. I am a big fan.

5 responses to ““I’ll fight to the very end!!”

  1. I agree that the Salvation Army does great humanitarian work. But it should not be called a church. If it ever had the gospel, to be sure it does not have it now. More important even than helping the needy is to point them to heaven through the forgiveness of sins that may be obtained by repenting. Also, the Salvation Army here in Red Deer, Alberta, Canada is infamous for squandering the donations it receives. I have inside information. I am not a big fan.

    • Given your obviously strong feelings regarding this I am intrigued as to why you were reading this.
      I do not think the Salvation Army is perfect, because I am aware that no organisation/network is. I personally have had little direct involvement but have seen some wonderful work they do in my city and know that my local branch is very transparent in their financial dealings.
      As for calling it ‘a church’…well I didn’t call it a church, and I think “church” in the Biblical sense means simply Christians. Not a building, an organisation, but just a body of people worldwide who believe the same thing. ie People are the church.
      And as for the gospel…well I tend to resonate with St Francis of Assisi – “Preach the gospel at all times, and if necessary use words.” Actions really can speak a whole lot louder…

  2. How can you preach the gospel without using words when the gospel means good news?: the good news that Jesus came into the world to save sinners. Preaching by action, as you say, implies that the gospel is something we do instead of the good news of what Christ has done. Will anyone get saved by observing? No, one gets saved by placing one’s faith in what Christ has done. He died that we might have life by faith in his name: eternal life instead of the hell sinners are right now condemened to. “He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already” (John 3.18.)

    • Thankyou for your comment; you raise a valid point. The reason I feel so passionately about demonstrating the good news….you know, good news to the poor, freedom for the captives, etc, is because I feel that common perception Gospel has almost lost it’s potency…people in the west have heard it before, seen churches fight about it before, seen politicians fight about it before; familiarity breeds contempt; it’s almost as though the real significance of this good news has been drowned out. Talk is cheap, and I get excited about the idea of living out the gospel in a practical way, as I think when people experience the love of God through others in ways they wouldn’t expect, it can soften hearts and open real opportunities to share about your faith. I don’t believe we get ‘saved’ by what we do…but that what we do is simply a natural outworking of our faith. I think when we actually live what we preach it can really make a significant impact. Hope that clarifies my view a little 🙂

  3. The Good News is the gospel: that Jesus came into the world to save sinners. This is what I’m getting at. The only ‘good news’ is that news, for poor and rich alike. We do not ‘live out the gospel.’ Jesus’ life and death: this is the gospel. If we were to live this out, then we’d have to die on the cross for sinners too. That’s what I’m getting at, trying to rectify this confusion of what we do with what Christ has done and which he alone can do. Now good works that merit nothing for salvation, good works that count for the demonstration that we have been given life by Jesus through our faith, this we can do.

Leave a Reply

