Ponche – Australian style.

I remember the first time I tasted Guatemala’s rich, spicy hot fruit punch (ponche). It was during my first week in the country and a neighbour sweetly welcomed us with a pot filled to the brim with this rich and super-sweet drink.

I’m a sucker for hot drinks, and sweet things. I was in heaven. mmm.

So, this year, I decided to have a crack at making this traditional Guatemalan christmas drink.

Given the different fruit and spice supplies here, I improvised. A lot. But it tastes pretty good. Not quite as good, lacked the intensity of flavours, but still…mmm.

Mine included:

Papaya
Pineapple
Apples (2 varieties)
Coconut
Oranges
Prunes
Mixed dried fruit
Cinnamon sticks
Cloves
Water
Sugar

I think that was it. Mmm.

¡Que rico!

¡Feliz navidad!

Leave a Reply

