The Freak that is my Subsconscious

My dreams provide me with the best entertainment. Really. Sometimes I just wake up and laugh. Pretty sure I need to start a dream log cos I keep forgetting the best ones.

My dreams rarely seem to have any relevance to what I think about/do when I’m conscious and therefore leave me totally confounded as to where they actually come from.

Example:

2 nights ago, in far off dreamland, I had a bunch of grapes growing out of my head.

I was trying to hide them in my curls while I figured out how to get rid of them. I remember thinking that chopping them off would hurt.

Oh, there was also a satin multi-coloured goats ear growing out of my head as well.

???

Don’t even ask me about the one with Britney Spears (Britney?? really? where does this come from??)

The creativity of my subconscious astounds me (& makes me think I’m possibly a little crazy). If only I could be so creative when I am awake.

4 responses to “The Freak that is my Subsconscious

  1. Pingback: Dream Log #2 | life without icecream

  2. Hi,

    I enjoyed your writing, just felt like I could see something that needed to be mentioned… Hope you don’t mind! ;D

    The multi coloured goat makes me think of Joseph and the multicoloured dream coat? To me, the goat would signify sacrifice.

    The grapes….. Fruit of the spirit perhaps? It is a sacrifice to be like Christ and bear fruit for his kingdom, but is something he calls each of us to do.

    We often get bogged down and face confusion trying to find out what God wants us to do and where he wants us to be, but it is always simple, abide in the vine and bear fruit for his kingdom. This passage best illustrates: ‘Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing’ – John 15:4-5

    Maybe read John 15:1-17 to see its full context.

    If we want to be of use to God or anyone else we must go to the source of all goodness… Jesus.

    When you get along with someone and spend alot of time together you’ll notice that you will start to say the same things, act in similiar ways and generally pick up some of the same habits and behaviors, this works the same with Jesus.

    Also, I read your most recent post about ‘the wood between two worlds’ and think your dreams are related.

    I think maybe the two worlds speak of your two passions in life. Serving God in the church by bringing more to the love of Jesus and then your zeal for social justice?

    Bearing fruits of love, compassion and mercy calls us to issues like social justice and therefore is an outworking of our faith; reaching people in need is the very heart of Jesus. The two passion’s dont have to be separated. The problem is they seem separate to us when there is some kind of inbalance in our walk with God.

    This comes to mind; ‘We love because he first loved us’ – To love all and fight for all, we must first have an awareness of Gods love for us. Freely we receive, freely we give, but how can one give away what he doesnt have? Or should I say doesnt know he has… The point I am making is that we strive in our own strength to do so many things, but the simple truth is that once we have developed such a close walk with God his voice will be heard, his calling sure and his heart revealed.

    Faith comes first, the works will follow. Don’t get discouraged if others haven’t come to this point of revelation. Get encouraged to help others come to this revelation, don’t make a choice between the two, choose Jesus and the two will become one! Just remember it is all for His glory!

    ‘Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart’ – Psalm 37:4

    God Bless

  3. No problems, I felt I had a word for you, so I had to comment… Let me know if it had any impact and spoke to you… Take care… =)

Leave a Reply

